Loomio
Fri 2 Mar 2018 11:21AM

Discourse - Review

WR Wessel Reijers Public Seen by 322

This thread can be used for reviewing the Discourse platform. For the review, please keep the software features into account that are listed in the "Division of work" thread.

WR

Wessel Reijers Fri 2 Mar 2018 11:22AM

I will lead this review.

WR

Wessel Reijers Sat 3 Mar 2018 2:42PM

Discourse main features: (1) open source and free, (2) non-profit discount for hosted service, (3) 99 Dollars for a managed installation by the Discourse people (after which 10 dollars a month), (4) has an API, (5) compatible with different devices (e.g. mobile), (6) dynamic debate options, (7) user profiles, (8) connection between users, (9) 25 translations available, (10) integrate with existing site login

DU

Deleted account Sat 3 Mar 2018 3:32PM

sorry my tech ignorance, this is what I understood:
1. "Discourse is, and will always be, 100% free and open source software. You can install it yourself on your own server,...."
2. "... or for a flat one-time fee of $99, the community can install Discourse in the cloud for you. Please note that a $10/month hosting fee is still payable to the cloud provider (Digital Ocean)"

Option 1 is if you have the skills and self-host on your own server (which I guess is what we have and what we want) = we have internal costs.
Option 2 is if you let them install your Discourse on their partner's (Digital Ocean) cloud = a no-go, right?

WR

Wessel Reijers Sat 3 Mar 2018 3:37PM

Yes, that's right! Option 2 seems a no-go indeed; but still useful to list

WR

Wessel Reijers Sat 3 Mar 2018 3:39PM

Digital Ocean is US based (https://www.digitalocean.com/about/); so indeed not really a preferable option.

DU

Deleted account Sat 3 Mar 2018 3:51PM

My point is that with option 1 we are all good!

It is not clear in what you wrote in the ethercalc. This is why I split their answer in 1 and 2 (again, if I got it right), :slight_smile:

WR

Wessel Reijers Sat 3 Mar 2018 3:53PM

Ok, thanks!

WR

Wessel Reijers Sat 3 Mar 2018 2:42PM

Example of a user profile in Discourse

WR

Wessel Reijers Sat 3 Mar 2018 3:07PM

Overview of all the main features of Discourse

Load More