Loomio
Mon 31 May 2021 6:32PM

Code of Conduct and Federation Policy Review & Update

MC Matthew Cropp Public Seen by 84

At the last Community Operations Team meeting, we reflected that it's been a few years since the Code of Conduct and Federation Policy has been reviewed and updated. So, over the next few months, we are going to facilitate a process to review and, if it seems appropriate, update those policies. The process will proceed as follows:

  1. Poll the membership to schedule a synchronous meeting in the mid-to-late summer at which interested members will discuss the policies.

  2. Once a date is set, circulate a copy of the two policies to the membership with commenting turned on to collect feedback and ideas for around what's working, what's not, what could be added, what could be clarified, etc.

  3. Walk through the comments at the synchronous meeting, and potentially develop a list of proposed amendments to submit to a vote of the membership.

  4. If an amendment proposal is developed, put it forward for final feedback and then a vote to adopt it.

We'll use this thread for keeping track of the process and as one venue members can share ideas on the topic.

MC

Matthew Cropp Wed 11 Aug 2021 2:48PM

Thanks to everyonw who joined the call today and contributed to the conversation! It felt like a very productive conversation that's on track to result in an updated set of policies that will eliminate lessen some of the challenges that currently pop up from time to time in the moderation work. There are some notes at the bottom of the document and also on a number of the comments on the doc.

We did not make it fully through the work in the 90 minutes that'd been allotted, so we'll be blocking out the first portion of the upcoming monthly Community Working Group Operations Team meeting to continue the work. That will take place Sunday, August 22nd at 5pm US Eastern time via this link, and all members are welcome to join us!

RH

Richard Hull Wed 9 Jun 2021 3:21AM

I cannot attend the meeting, but have reviewed the documents and have left comments if I had suggestions or questions.

Sorry, in another meeting

GL

Gyuri Lajos Wed 9 Jun 2021 3:21AM

I plan to attend the meeting

I still have trouble accessing my meet.coop room. Interested how things are going.

J

JohnKuti Wed 9 Jun 2021 3:21AM

I cannot attend the meeting, but have reviewed the documents and have left comments if I had suggestions or questions.

Sorry I can't come. Unusually for me, I'm working very intensively this summer. I made a comment about purposes at the start of the document.

DVN

Dave V. ND9JR Wed 9 Jun 2021 3:21AM

I cannot attend the meeting, but have reviewed the documents and have left comments if I had suggestions or questions.

Looked at the documents, slept on it, haven't come up with any suggestions or questions that others haven't already given or asked.

CW
I plan to attend the meeting

I’m 70% committed to attend as of early June.

MC

Poll Created Wed 9 Jun 2021 3:21AM

RSVP: CoC & Federation Policy Review 8/11 13:00 UTC Closed Wed 11 Aug 2021 1:02PM

Please use this poll to RSVP for the meeting on 8/11, or to confirm that you've reviewed and left feedback on the documents in question, but are unable to attend the synchronous meeting.

Links:

Results

Results Option % of points Voters
I plan to attend the meeting 58.8% 10 MC MN JB M CW ED ES MF GL SW
I cannot attend the meeting, but have reviewed the documents and have left comments if I had suggestions or questions. 41.2% 7 NS D RH N DVN J LM
Undecided 0% 121 DS ST JD CZ BH LF F BM SH KT C G AM MSC CCC AW SC JD PA RB

17 of 138 people have voted (12%)

J

JohnKuti Mon 31 May 2021 6:40PM

Sun 22 Aug 2021 12:00AM
Sat 21 Aug 2021 7:00PM
Sat 21 Aug 2021 2:00PM
Thu 12 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Thu 12 Aug 2021 1:00PM
Wed 11 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Wed 11 Aug 2021 1:00PM
Tue 10 Aug 2021 11:00PM
Tue 10 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Mon 19 Jul 2021 11:00PM

suits my timezone UTC +3

BH

Bob Haugen Mon 31 May 2021 6:40PM

Sun 22 Aug 2021 12:00AM
Sat 21 Aug 2021 7:00PM
Sat 21 Aug 2021 2:00PM
Thu 12 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Thu 12 Aug 2021 1:00PM
Wed 11 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Wed 11 Aug 2021 1:00PM
Tue 10 Aug 2021 11:00PM
Tue 10 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Mon 19 Jul 2021 11:00PM

I like mornings or early afternoon but 7pm is too late.

CW
Sun 22 Aug 2021 12:00AM
Sat 21 Aug 2021 7:00PM
Sat 21 Aug 2021 2:00PM
Thu 12 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Thu 12 Aug 2021 1:00PM
Wed 11 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Wed 11 Aug 2021 1:00PM
Tue 10 Aug 2021 11:00PM
Tue 10 Aug 2021 3:00PM
Mon 19 Jul 2021 11:00PM

I might come. Summer weather may keep me from attending or make my participation possible.

MC

Poll Created Mon 31 May 2021 6:40PM

CoC and Federation Policy Review & Update Meeting Closed Sat 5 Jun 2021 4:01PM

Outcome
by Matthew Cropp Wed 9 Jun 2021 3:04AM

Let's book this meeting for August 11 at 9am US Eastern Time/13:00 UTC. I will start a check poll with details and to collect RSVPs.

At this 90 minute meeting, we will review feedback from members on the existing Code of Conduct and Federation policies and, if it seems appropriate, develop a proposal for amending them to put forward to the full membership.

Once we have a date, the next step will be to circulate copies of the policies to the membership with comments turned on.

Results

UTC Votes MC CW BH MN J N J MF ED
Mon 19 Jul 2021 11:00PM
4.5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tue 10 Aug 2021  3:00PM
6
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Tue 10 Aug 2021 11:00PM
5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wed 11 Aug 2021  1:00PM
6
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Wed 11 Aug 2021  3:00PM
5.5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thu 12 Aug 2021  1:00PM
5.5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thu 12 Aug 2021  3:00PM
5.5
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sat 21 Aug 2021  2:00PM
4
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sat 21 Aug 2021  7:00PM
4
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Sun 22 Aug 2021 12:00AM
3
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

9 of 138 people have voted (6%)