Loomio
Sun 14 Dec 2014 11:22PM

(Monthly) development review

SVB Steffen van Bergerem Public Seen by 284

I'd like to create a (monthly) development review we can share via diasporahq and maybe the planet. It should include all contributions to the diaspora* codebase but should also try to be not too technical so even "normal" users should get a vague idea of what is going on. I've already started a review for December which we can continue until the end of the month.

http://pad.spored.de/p/development_review

We can share it in the first week of January and then start with a new review of the next month.

Help would be much appreciated. I am not a native speaker and I guess I already described some things too technical. Feel free to add more contributions as soon as they have been merged into our codebase.

J

jakobdee Sun 14 Dec 2014 11:58PM

nice idea Steffen .. pencil me in,i will offer what i can .. be open to all things 2015

DU

Rich Mon 15 Dec 2014 6:20AM

Cool idea man :)

DU

Mon 15 Dec 2014 5:56PM

Really like the idea. One of the most recurrent problem I've heard is that non-devs find hard to find infos on what is beeing done.

G

goob Mon 15 Dec 2014 6:18PM

That would be fantastic. I tried to do that with DHQ (to mirror what the original core team did at the start of the project) but I found it too much work to do each month and also didn't understand a lot of the development stuff, so it wasn't that easy for me anyway. If some people who really understand what's going on would be happy to do this, it would be a really good addition to the communication. I'd suggest putting it on the project blog as well as DHQ.

I'd love to help as much as I can, which is most likely to be in terms of helping with the prose, and posting via blog and DHQ.

Thanks for the initiative!

DU

Perig Gouanvic Mon 15 Dec 2014 8:49PM

YES.

Sharing your proposal on d* right now,

DU

Perig Gouanvic Mon 15 Dec 2014 8:50PM

R

robertbiloute Mon 15 Dec 2014 9:30PM

Very good idea, I'd be glad to help.

F

Faldrian Tue 16 Dec 2014 9:18AM

Sounds like a plan. If you need graphics to explain textually complex things, just wave in my direction. :)

DU

Rich Tue 16 Dec 2014 9:35AM

Is it ready yet? :D

SVB

Steffen van Bergerem Tue 16 Dec 2014 11:51AM

@rich1 I hope we aren't done yet with diaspora* development for this month so I'd say no ;)

For the commits so far there are three commits done by @jhass which lack an explanation. Some of the other explanations could also need some improvements so whoever would like to help: go ahead and improve the review: http://pad.spored.de/p/development_review

Load More