Did something just change WRT filtering?
I'm looking at my timeline this evening, and suddenly a large number of "Filtered" blocks have shown up on it. I can't click into them, so I have no idea why these are suddenly displaying.
I have two theories, and I'm not sure whether one or both is true:
It's something to do with us upgrading to 4.x. (Which yay, but I didn't see this when I was on mastodon.social, so I don't think that's it.)
We've just blocked a site that I was following a number of folks at. (Eg, mastodon.social.)
Any insights?
No, not really my style to use filters, which is why this is so weird.
But here is a consistent bizarre effect: I just proved to myself that every time I favorite a post (the usual way, by clicking on the star), it gets replaced by that "Filtered" block. Which makes no sense, but experimenting has proved it. Still debugging, to see if I can learn more...
Ahhh, okay -- I think theory 1 is kind of it. I realized that I hadn't reloaded the page since the 4.x upgrade. When I reload, the "Filtered" blocks go away, and are replaced back with the favorited messages they should have.
Best guess is that there is some sort of API incompatibility between the 3.5 and 4.0 releases, so that if you still have a 3.5 page open on the new 4.0 server, the "favorited" flag from the server is somehow misinterpreted by the client as "filtered". (That's just a guess, though: I don't know the code on either side of that fence, so I can't confirm or refute it.)
I heard about this from another person who had the interface open during a 3.5 → 4.0 upgrade.
I can confirm this. A thread of discussion with someone on another instance last night (post upgrade) now has 'filtered' blocking some of the posts. Checking my settings, I have no filters setup.
It's a bug in the upgrade process; refresh and it should fix itself.
Thanks - that fixed it :)
Do you have any filters set up?