Loomio

What happen to posts if member is deleted and don't want to have any connection with the group anymore?

Chris Taklis PublicSeen by 67

I wonder if someone is delete his account or he/she is banned from a group what happens with his/her posts?

And what if he/she wants to not connect his/her name with this group anymore?

  • Are they deleted?
  • Is the name changed to some random number?
  • Anything else?

Alanna Irving

@richarddbartlett can you clarify this one?

Richard D. Bartlett

I can't actually answer this definitively because at the moment there is no 'delete member' feature. @hannahsalmon is building it right now though, perhaps she can pop in and explain the functionality?

Deleted account

Thanks @richarddbartlett. This is the very first iteration of this feature but deactivating a user would mean that the person's posts and the associated username will be retained but their username will be appended with "(account deactivated)". They also won't be able to log back into Loomio without contacting us. Does this answer your question @christaklis?

Chris Taklis

@hannahsalmon i am not happy enough.

Because someone maybe has left because he/she regrets to participate in some group.

What we can do to protect that person and delete or hide his/her past life?

I think the most easy is admin or coordinators can change the name of the person if he/she asked to something different for example a random number...

What do you say???

Richard D. Bartlett

@christaklis the question is, once someone has contributed to a group, do their contributions belong to the group or to the individual?

The user is always free to change their name if they want to hide their identity.

Alanna Irving

I would probably oppose deleting all the user's comments once they leave. That would destroy continuity of the discussions they participated in. However, we could have their name shown simply as [deleted] so no one can associate the comments with them any more.

vivien maidaborn

@christaklis I have a wee warning bell ringing about a theoretical situation that may happen and trying to design for that. It seems to work for me when we start simple and then see how a feature is used and build from there. @alannakrause I agree that removing comments would seem to destroy the dialogue to this point. Could we compare a dialogue here to a fact to face one where you can choose to leave a conversation but what. You have contributed so far find off has a life of its own in the room?

Chris Taklis

@richarddbartlett my question is the same, once someone has contributed to a group, do their contributions belong to the group or to the individual?

@alannakrause @vivienmaidabornloo, also i disagree to delete the comments because then discussions/dialogues will be destroyed. But what really we can do?

I think only deleted can't help enough because someone maybe using the same nickname everywhere to internet and somehow want to delete this from his/her past life so noone can connect him/her to the group.. There is the catch what we can do, to protect him/her???

Robert Guthrie

I don't want to pour time into protecting someone from their own mistakes.

If someone has acted in a way that they are embarrassed about then they need to post an update with apologies or amendments, not run away and delete their content.

Danyl Strype

I have some thoughts about deleted accounts, so I'm going to continue this thread, rather than starting a new one. I have noticed in a few groups (eg the Internet Party group) that the words "account deleted" come up in place of the username. At first I thought this could be a bug; someone has just left the group, but the system is assuming for some reason that their account is deleted. But I just left a group, and my name still appears beside all my comments in that group. So I presume this only happens when someone actually deletes their account.

This above discussion suggests that a feature might be implemented to allow people to disassociate their Loomio name (whether birth name/ legal name or nickname/ handle) from a group. I take Robert's point about people being accountable for their comments, but a user may wish to disassociate because of the group's behaviour, eg they left the group because the group has done something they deeply disagree with. If the alternative is people using their ability to delete all their comments before they leave the group, it seems like a disassociate features would be better.

I can imagine a few scenarios around leaving groups:
* user A leaves a group, but stands by their comments in that group, and is happy to have their name next to them
* user B leaves a group, and wants to disassociate their name from that group
* user C deletes their account from Loomio, but stands by their comments in their groups, and is happy to have their name next to them
* user D deletes their account from Loomio, and wants to disassociate their name from all their groups
* user E deletes their account from Loomio, and wants to disassociate their name from some of their groups, but stands by their comments in other group, and is happy to have their name next to them

As it stands, users A and D are well served by the way the system works. Unless anyone can think of a really good reason why user C would need to delete their account, they could just not do that, or live with the results. However, user B has no recourse in the current system except to delete their account, set up a new one, and rejoin the groups they do want to be associated with, and user E is right out of luck.

A feature allowing users to disassociate from a group would serve the needs of user B. If the default behaviour upon someone deleting their account was to assume they are like user C, this would automatically serve the needs of user E, since they could disassociate from any groups they wanted to before deleting their account. The only user inconvenienced would be user D, who would need to manually disassociate from all their groups before deleting their account.

But if the 'delete account' process included a page that said "if you want to disassociate your username from any of your past or present groups, tick the box next to its name", and presented a tickbox list of all the groups that account had been a member of, with a toggle button to tick all the boxes, that would satisfy the needs of users C, D, and E.

Alanna Irving

@strypey I have shifted this discussion into the Prodcut Development group. Perhaps @jameskiesel @robertguthrie or @hannahsalmon could answer your question.

Danyl Strype

Thanks @alanna . I'm aware that's quite a wall of text I've bricked up there. The TL;DR would be something like:
I think it would be useful to have a feature that allows users to disassociate their name from Loomio groups they have left. That way, the default behaviour when a users leaves a group, or deactivates their account on a Loomio server, would be to keep their username on all comments they've made etc. This feature could then be used by an interface feature that asks users leaving groups whether they want to disassociate their name from that group. It could also be used in another interface feature, that asks users deactivating their account on a Loomio server whether they want to disassociate their name from any of the groups they have been part of on that server.